Situated in Davies Street in the centre of Brynmawr, the Chapel was built in 1835 and was one of the first to be built in this area.
Tabor has a rich history and many have come to faith in this building over the years. Sadly the Chapel had to close when it’s membership had decreased in number, but the previous owners were delighted that we were able to take it on and continue it’s use as a fully operational Church building, continuing it’s gospel outreach into our local community.
We have had a full survey performed on the building and there are various areas which need attention in order to make the building practical for it’s continued use as a Church building. The main issue is that of damp penetration due to damaged external render and broken down rainwater goods. The good news is that the roof on the main building and also the roof on the Sunday School extension have quite recently been replaced, so there are no problems here.
Internally there are some areas which need attention. The boiler and heating system needs updating in line with modern heating requirements. There is carpentry repair work to be done where damp has caused damage, as well as internal plastering and decoration.
We would like to be able to increase the number of toilets and put in a disabled toilet. Also, for the Church building to be more practical for today’s needs we would like to add a crèche room and a couple of internal rooms for Sunday School usage as well as updating the kitchen area.
We will shortly be adding a link so that those who would like to contribute towards the costs of the project can do so.